Author Topic: starting to get popups  (Read 888 times)

Offline brackish

  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 2057
  • Karma: 53
  • Arion
starting to get popups
« on: December 02, 2013, 07:25:26 AM »
Starting to get popup ads on this site, something that has never happened before.  Think it is isolated to my computer but can anyone confirm.

Offline carry-on

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: 5
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 07:43:58 AM »
I had the same issue. Started the day before Thanksgiving. Found two Scorpion programs on my control panel. The date installed was 11/23/13. Don't know how they were installed. I uninstalled and the popups disappeared.
$UM FUN TOO

CP-16 Hull# 2886

Offline nies

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: 2
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 08:57:23 AM »
Had the same problem earlier.........nies

Offline skip1930

  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 2282
  • Karma: 19
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2013, 07:27:24 PM »
Not here.

Turn your 'Allow Pop ups' off. [Disable].

Has Advast been downloaded?
It's always free, even though Advast will occasionally ask if you want to up grade.
Don't do it. And after a fast or full scan ... any bad files should be moved into the 'Chest'. No where else.

skip.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2013, 07:31:28 PM by skip1930 »

Offline Bob23

  • I'm a mean and selfish curmudgeon! - Bob23
  • Fleet Admiral
  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 5916
  • Karma: 112
  • All men die; few men really live.
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2013, 07:49:09 PM »
My computer is too slow to get pop ups...they get tired of waiting and move on to someone else's computer!
Bob23

Offline Tim Gardner

  • 1985 CP19/II # 323 "Andiamo!"
  • Fleet Admiral
  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 1179
  • Karma: 46
  • NSA: This is not the 'droid you're looking for
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2013, 08:41:37 PM »
Haven't gotten any, but my system blocks pop-ups - TG
"The sea is selective, slow at recognition of effort and aptitude, but fast in sinking the unfit"  - Adm Felix Riesenberg.

Offline MacGyver

  • Auto Care Center Manager, WalMart
  • Fleet Admiral
  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 1356
  • Karma: 21
  • WalMart ACCM, 1989 ComPac 19/3
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2013, 11:17:41 PM »
No issues here, I use a PC, with Google CHROME.
My antivirus is AVG, but no issues and on CHROME it dloads all updates auto-magically making it literally idiot proof which is good because my plate is already full that I dont want to have to deal with updates all the time.

Mac
Former Harbor Master/Boat Tech, Certified in West System, Interlux, and Harken products.
Works on ALL aspects of the sailboat, 14 years experience.
"I wanted freedom, open air and adventure. I found it on the sea."
-Alaine Gerbault.

Offline Salty19

  • Fleet Admiral
  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 2372
  • Karma: 37
    • Island Time Pictures
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2013, 11:29:45 PM »
Fine here too on a Mac OSX 10
I'll ask the site owner to take a look around the bowels of the forum to look for anything odd, just in case.

Offline brackish

  • Commodore
  • ******
  • Posts: 2057
  • Karma: 53
  • Arion
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2013, 10:15:21 AM »
I don't think anything wrong with the forum.  I pulled in Nation Zoom and a bunch of other junk on a download.  Trying to clean it up now and get rid of it all.

Offline Michael

  • Rigger
  • ****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: starting to get popups
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2014, 04:30:52 PM »
Have not gotten any popups. I use Firefox with popup blocker addon.

Fair winds, MM in Wonder